Rukh vs ChessFlare
Training workspace · Facts as of October 2026 · Last updated
The short verdict
ChessFlare is a broad training app at a low price: a repertoire editor and opening trainer, game sync from chess.com and Lichess, game summaries, blunder review aimed at recurring errors, weak-spot puzzles and an AI coach. It does review your games and it does use spaced repetition. The differences are narrower. Rukh uses your clock, opens a lesson only after the same miss repeats 3 times in your real games, and counts it mastered only when you play it in 4 of your next 5 real chances. If you want openings, tactics and review in one cheap app, ChessFlare is built for that. If you want a coach that proves a habit is fixed in your real games, Rukh is built for that.
ChessFlare is for
Self-improvers from beginner to club level who want repertoire study, puzzles, game review and a daily routine in one inexpensive app, on web, iOS and Android.
Rukh is for
Players who already play openings, keep repeating the same misses, and want a coach that works from their own games and clock and checks the fix in real play.
Rukh and ChessFlare side by side
| Feature | Rukh | ChessFlare |
|---|---|---|
| Learns from your own games | Yes. Follows your chess.com games. | Yes. Syncs chess.com and Lichess games and imports PGN. |
| Uses your clock | Yes. Reads the clock on every move to find the ones you rushed. | No clock analysis found on its game-review pages. |
| Engine-checked advice | Yes. Every move is checked by Stockfish before Rukh says it. | Stockfish analysis per its store text. We found no stated threshold and no stated check on the AI coach’s answers. |
| Waits for a repeated miss | Yes. A lesson opens only after the same miss shows up 3 times in your real games. | Blunder Review is aimed at recurring errors. No repeat rule published. |
| Mastery measured in real games | Yes. Mastered means playing it in 4 of your next 5 real chances. | No mastery rule found. It has a spaced-review queue and per-theme puzzle accuracy. |
| Talks the line through | Yes, in conversation and out loud. | An AI Coach answers questions about a game, position or plan. Model and voice not stated. |
| Reviews new games on its own | Yes. Reviews new games without being asked. | Background game import. Whether reviews run on their own is not stated. |
| Courses and drills | No course library. Lessons come from your own misses. | Yes. Opening trainer, SM-2 spaced review, “hundreds” of courses and weak-spot puzzles. |
| Lichess | chess.com only for now. | Yes, including live play. |
| Platforms | Web. No native app. | Web, iOS and Android. |
| Price | One-week free trial, then a subscription. | Free plan; Pro $59.99 a year or $6.49 a month on web; $110 lifetime. |
“Not found” means we looked at the product’s own pages and did not find it, which is not the same as saying it does not exist. Details and sources are below.
Where ChessFlare is strong
- Breadth. Repertoire editor, opening trainer, game summaries, blunder review, weak-spot puzzles and an AI coach sit under one plan.
- Price. The web Pro plan is $59.99 a year or $6.49 a month, and a lifetime plan is offered.
- Game sync from chess.com and Lichess, plus PGN import and export, and live Lichess play inside the app.
- Pace. Its changelog shows a new release every one to two months through 2026.
Where Rukh is different
- Rukh uses your clock. We found no clock analysis on ChessFlare’s game-review pages.
- Rukh opens a lesson only after the same miss repeats 3 times in your real games. ChessFlare aims at recurring mistakes, but we found no published rule for what counts as recurring.
- Mastery in Rukh means playing the move in 4 of your next 5 real chances. We found no equivalent rule on ChessFlare’s pages.
- Every move Rukh says is checked by Stockfish before you see it, and you can talk the line through with the coach.
Pricing
ChessFlare: on the web, a free plan (stats for 25 games, limited features) and Pro at $6.49 a month, $59.99 a year after a 7-day trial, or $110 lifetime, per its pricing page. iOS prices are higher: Pro at $69 a year or $7.49 a month on the App Store. Rukh: a one-week free trial, then a subscription.
Prices as of October 2026. They change, so check the product’s own page before you buy.
Rukh and ChessFlare: common questions
Does ChessFlare analyze my games?
Yes. It syncs chess.com and Lichess games and offers Game Summary and Blunder Review. See its game-review page (opens in a new tab).
Does ChessFlare have spaced repetition?
Yes. Its spaced-review page (opens in a new tab) describes an adaptation of the SM-2 algorithm.
Does ChessFlare have an AI coach?
It lists an AI Coach (opens in a new tab) for questions about a game, position or plan. It does not name the model or say how answers are checked against an engine.
How much does ChessFlare cost?
As of October 2026, the web plan is free with limits, or Pro at $6.49 a month, $59.99 a year or $110 lifetime, per its pricing page (opens in a new tab). The App Store (opens in a new tab) lists higher prices.
What is the difference between ChessFlare and Rukh?
ChessFlare covers more ground: openings, puzzles, review and routine. Rukh is narrower. It uses your clock, waits for a miss to repeat 3 times in real games, and counts a lesson mastered only after 4 of your next 5 real chances.
Try Rukh on your own games
Type your chess.com username for a free look at your openings, no signup. Rukh itself starts with a one-week free trial, then a subscription.
Try
Or get early access to the coach
Sources
- ChessFlare (opens in a new tab)
- ChessFlare pricing (opens in a new tab)
- ChessFlare: fix chess mistakes (Blunder Review) (opens in a new tab)
- ChessFlare: spaced review (opens in a new tab)
- ChessFlare: AI Coach (opens in a new tab)
- ChessFlare: weak spot puzzles (opens in a new tab)
- ChessFlare changelog (opens in a new tab)
- ChessFlare on the App Store (opens in a new tab)
Last updated . Rukh makes this site, so read it with that in mind, and tell us if anything about ChessFlare is out of date.